Embarrassment of riches

So since my rediscovery of the marvelous place that is the library, suddenly I’ve introduced a new element into my reading schedule: time pressure.  Gotta finish the book before it’s due!  Of course I can renew any book with one mouse click thanks to the Columbus Metropolitan Library system’s fabulous online user account interface, but still.

And I have some pressure to hit 25 books read by Friday.  I’m close enough to finishing Bonfire of the Vanities that I feel like I want to push hard and get it done.  The Kindle for PC app actually includes page counts (what a novelty!) so I now know that I’m on page 566 of 688.  That’s still kind of a long way to go.

I also now have two probably fast-reading YA titles to choose from, Incarceron and Will Grayson Will Grayson. So should I work on Bonfire and then one of those, or go ahead and start The Passage, which I’m really looking forward to but which is THICK?

I really want Bonfire finally cleared off my list.  That’s a long-ass book and I will really feel like I’ve accomplished something when I finish it, and I have tomorrow night free to read it.  That plus pick-a-YA-book will put me up to 25 books read.

And there will be much rejoicing.

Leave a Reply

