Quarter-year crisis?

Since I wrote about my one-fifth-done status report not much has changed, but I’m feeling good about my progress.

On April 1st, the year will be one-quarter over.  To be on track I’ll need to have 25 books read.  I think I might make it.  I just knocked off #20 and #21 in quick succession.  Tonight at the library I got a compilation volume of Roth novels that includes the next two I must read, Our Gang and The Breast, and I was astonished to observe that the two of them together total 140 pages.  And I started Our Gang and it is amazingly awesome.  I think I’ll burn through those two with quickness.

Plus I am now almost 60% finished with Bonfire of the Vanities.  You can always tell a Kindle user because they know what percent they’ve read but not what page they’re on, heh.  The reading speed of that book is picking up a great deal as the plot really kicks into high gear.  After that I picked up another quick one, Ian McEwan’s short little novel On Cheshil Beach.  If I can finish those four tomes by April 1st I will be right up the middle.

At the library I also picked up Justin Cronin’s The Passage, a book I’ve wanted to read and which has come recommended.  It’s long.  But if I can make it to 25 books by April 1st, I’ll feel better about throwing in a doorstop of a volume.

Whew.

I’m coming up against a downside to this project, though.  I’m diving in to some research for a book project I’m considering.  I doubt I’ll be reading complete books for it, more like skimming and note-taking…the problem is I’m going to resent any time I spend reading that won’t get applied to The Project.

Oh well.  I need better time management.  Less Facebook time!

Yeah, that’ll happen.

Leave a Reply

